AAA How to Drive Online – Questions, Answers & Information
Oklahoma Parent-Taught Driver Education
Note – parents of students under age 18 must complete, submit, and receive approval of the “PARENT TAUGHT DRIVERS EDUCATION AFFIDAVIT” from the OK Dept. of Public Safety prior to beginning a parent-taught driver education course.
Steps for completing Parent Taught Driver’s Ed:
• Step one: If the student is under the age of 18, submit the Parent Taught Driver’s Education Affidavit to the Dept. of Public Safety. You can find it on the very last page of the Parent Taught Driver’s Education Packet at https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/dps/docs/parent_taught.pdf
• Step two: Purchase How to Drive Online and create a username and password for the student to save their progress. They will use these credentials to log in and save their work each time.
• Step three: Complete all 12 units in the online program taking the practice exams after each chapter. But do not complete the final exam yet!
• Step four: Obtain the student’s permit from your local driver’s license exam site. For a list of locations, go to https://wa1.dps.state.ok.us/dls/exam_sites.php.
• Step five: Once the required 55 hours of driving (45 hours of daytime driving and 10 hours of nighttime driving) have been completed, log back on to the website and complete the parent sign-off stating the hours have been finished.
• Step six: Take the final exam online and pass with an 80% or higher. If the student fails, they may retake the exam until they pass. There will be an opportunity to take 3 practice exams where you can review your incorrect answers.
• Step seven: Download and print the student’s Certificate of Completion – that will be needed to obtain their driver’s license. Each student under the age of 18 must hold a permit for 6 months.
When you say "How to Drive Online" is certified by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, what does that mean? The AAA "How to Drive Online" Parent-Taught Driver Education course is considered the educational equivalent of a high school or commercial driving school Driver Education course and is therefore accepted as qualifying for the standard Driver Ed. auto insurance discount.
Why should I pick the AAA How to Drive Online program? AAA’s How to Drive Online delivers the rules and essential elements of safe driving in an interactive and innovative way. This online program aims to ensure that safe driving habits are developed and maintained for life. AAA has been a leader in the driver training business since 1935, so trust AAA to help keep the roads safe for all travelers.
Is the entire course done online? Yes. Our online parent-taught driver education course satisfies the mandated 30-hours of classroom training required by the Oklahoma Dept. of Public Safety (DPS) – and is 100% online.
Does this course meet the state requirements to get my permit? Yes. AAA’s How to Drive Online is certified by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety to obtain the learner’s permit at the earlier age of 15½.
What score do I have to make to pass? Each chapter has a quiz that requires a student to pass at 80% before moving to the next unit. Once all the units are completed, students will have the opportunity to take three practice exams where they will be able to review their incorrect answers. Once the practice exams and the 55 hours of driving are completed, students will complete a final exam, of which they must achieve at least an 80% in order to pass.
What happens if I don’t pass? Don’t worry – you can continue to take the final exam until you pass.
How soon will I receive a certificate? Once the online course has been successfully completed, the 55 hours of driving has been completed, and the final exam passed, a certificate of completion can be downloaded.
Does this course expire? Yes, Students have up to 365 days to complete the online course but may move through the program in as little as 10 days.
What if experience technical issues or have questions about course content? Just call Customer & Technical Support if you experience any technical issues with the course, customer service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 1-877-476-1254. If you have any questions about the course content, please e-mail the course trainer at the e-mail address below. All responses will be provided via e-mail or phone within 24 hours. Trainer: firstname.lastname@example.org
What items do I take with me to get my permit? To begin behind-the-wheel training, you must have your Oklahoma learner permit. To apply for your permit, simply visit the DPS location nearest you.
You will be required to bring the following:
Proof of your current status as it relates to your education (i.e. enrollment in a secondary or vocational-technical school, proof that you have completed a G.E.D., or proof of home schooling, on a form provided by the Department of Public Safety)
Your parent-taught drivers education affidavit (to show proof of enrollment in your course)
Your receipt of purchase from an approved parent-taught drivers education provider
Proof of identity and U.S. residency which may include:
- Certified birth certificate
- U.S. passport
- State of Oklahoma identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety
- Citizenship naturalization documents
- Alien registration card
To obtain an Oklahoma learner’s permit, students under the age of 16 must be enrolled in a parent-taught driver’s ed course or have completed a course through their local high school or a commercial driving school. Students can begin a parent-taught course at the age of 15, but they must wait until they are 15 ½ to obtain their permit. Students that obtain their permit after the age of 16 are not required to take driver’s ed. When the student is ready to apply for the permit, they must go to their local Driver’s License Examiner, most commonly at your local Dept. of Motor Vehicles (DMV). A vision exam will be completed in addition to the written exam. If both exams are passed, you will be given a form to take to your local tag office to be issued a permit for a fee.
What do I take to get my permit? Click here.
Anyone under the age of 18 must hold a permit for 6 months (30 days if over 18). If the student is under 16½ a Certificate of Completion of an approved driver’s ed course must be presented.
Please refer to the Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) page for details on the restrictions for the newly licensed driver.
When the student has completed all the requirements to get the license, they will need to go to a Driver’s License Exam Station to take the driving test. You may also choose to use a Designated Examiner, but a small fee will be charged.